November 2017


Dr. Curt Gilroy
Former Director

Accession Policy
Under Secretary of Defense for Personnel
and Readiness
(Military Personnel Policy)

Dr. Curtis L. Gilroy retired from the Office of the Secretary of Defense in 2012. His last position was that of Director, Accession Policy, in the Office of the Under Secretary of Defense for Personnel and Readiness, where for 10 years, he had oversight for recruiting the active duty force. Before this appointment, he served as Director of the 9th Quadrennial Review of Military Compensation, a comprehensive evaluation of the military compensation system, and was Director of Special Projects and Research within the Office of the Secretary. Dr. Gilroy is an economist with over 30 years’ experience applying economic analysis and policy research to military manpower and force management issues, and has an additional 10 years’ experience in studies of the civilian labor market.

Before joining the Office of the Secretary of Defense in 1991, Dr. Gilroy was Chief, Manpower and Personnel Policy Research Office at the Army Research Institute in support of the G-1, U.S. Army. Prior to that appointment, he served as Senior Economist with both the Congressional-directed Minimum Wage Commission and the Presidential-directed National Commission on Employment and Unemployment Statistics. Dr. Gilroy was also an economist with the Department of Labor, Bureau of Labor Statistics, and has taught economics at the college level.

Curtis Gilroy received his Ph.D. in economics from the State University of New York, the M.B.A. from McMaster University, the M.A. from the University of Toronto, and the B.A. (Honors) from Acadia University (Nova Scotia). He has edited 7 books, published over 30 articles in academic journals, and has published more than 80 other technical papers and reports. He is a referee for several professional journals. Dr. Gilroy has received the U.S. Army Recruiting Command Award for Excellence, the U.S. Army Recruiting Command Award for Meritorious Service, the U.S. Army Superior Civilian Service Medal, the Secretary of Defense Medal for Exceptional Civilian Service, and the Presidential Rank Award for Meritorious Senior Executive Service.